HE CALLS ME

That you may know that it is I the Lord, who calls you by your NAME! (From Isaiah 45:3)

b5ee73138dc155081c8cfdbefaedf76a.jpgGood morning beautiful one. Good morning handsome one. Well I have decided to use “individual” kind of greeting because I want you to read the message that I will be passing here as an individual, internalize it and then get sharing it. Alright?

Great! So how has been your weekend? I have been on leave for about two weeks, but I did keep in touch. I’m now back to work and first day feels like I just resumed school from holiday. Well, let that pass and let’s get down to business. Oh yes?

There are two things that came to mind this morning while I was seated in that matatu coming to work. Traffic was crazy by the way. Was it just me? So what came to mind was, “others’ opinion” and “scars” and having combined the two, I came up with “God’s calling”

So here is the thing. Very often our lives have been driven by the opinions of other people. Sad to say, it is something that gets stuck on us like some kinda superglue. Sometimes it’ll be us that get asking either our friends or people that know us too well what they think about us. The response they give us is what we get to go by. We do not think twice. We do not analyze it. We ate satisfied. If it’s good, it is good and if it’s bad, then it is bad.

The scar: Now this is the kind of image that’s imprinted in our minds by that very opinion that people make. It could be something very small, or something very very big. Let us take for example, a friend came and told you, “I have noted that lately, you eat a lot. You’ll probably not stop that habit of eating too much, now that it’s already happening.”

Aha! There we go. That one opinion brews many, many other things like “I’m a glutton.”, “That’s why I’m so big” etc etc. Sometimes a friend may decide to treat you with a lunch date, dinner, but because you have that image in your head of who you are because of that opinion, then you will either decline or go on and eat very little (not to your satisfaction) so you won’t get judged. Eh

Well, that is just but a tip of the iceberg. You know? I want to encourage you and me to stop so much relying on other people’s opinion. What does it matter what they think? I know that is a very tough question I asked because yes, many times it does matter what other people think. I will tell you what you’re needing most other than opinion that derails and worsens your wonderful personality.

I’m thinking of beginning some kind of exercise. And this is something I’d want us to do as some kind of “note to self” or “opinion to self”. Yes. The only thing that should matter when it comes to opinion is what Your Father in heaven thinks. What do you think He thinks?

John3:16 For God so loved Lucy (insert your name, that’s mine) that He gave His only begotten Son. That if Lucy believes in Him, she shall not perish but have everlasting life!

Usually, the scripture above which we all learnt when we were very little is known as God’s love letter, or message etc. If God thinks that you are worth dying for, will it matter what I think about you? If God would give such a sacrifice for your atonement, why would an opinion of someone who thinks you’re not even worth a minute of their time matter?

God calls you beautiful. He calls you beloved. He calls you Princess, Prince, and so so many things we are looking for, from people that will not call or give us that. Wake up and call yourself beautiful/handsome and the best because even if you do not see it, that is exactly what you are. And if you do not believe it, it shall not be until you believe!

So what is it you need from people and what do they need from you? Last week I had a conversation with a good friend of mine, and apparently, we were talking about the opinion of people. Here are the lyrics of a song she suggested, of a song with the title, “I need the prayers”

I need the prayers of those I love,
To help me in each trying hour,
To bear my tempted soul to Him,
That He may keep me by His pow’r.

Prayers are what we need from others and what they need from us. That way, God forever remains in our midst and He becomes what matters to us most. I pray that after reading this, your perspective gets to change, in realizing just how worthy of love you are.

God bless you and thank you very much for reading. Share widely.

From my heart to yours. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

