SILENT TREATMENT? NO!

de15c3628223a5f030dad9cf1650b946

A very good morning to you this day! Happy New and blessed month of September! How are you my people? I trust that above all else, the Lord has been faithful that past month and will be faithful again today. I’m blessed, I’m happy, I’m thankful, I’m loved. And you? Are you all that or this and more? 🙂

Now here’s my story today. Once upon a time, there used to be a girl named Luciana. I knew her, I’d watch her and would interact with her time and again. Luciana was the kind of girl who was an introvert, quiet, reserved. Clearly, very little about her life was known to me, her friend. It was a difficult attitude to deal with, it was a lot!

I decided to sit my friend down and get to understand why she opted to live that way. Everything in her life revolved around herself. She was a God fearing girl however, only that there’s something she couldn’t make a difference on. To be positively silent, and to give silent treatment.

Let me tell you something I didn’t know for a very long time. It is that silent treatment is sin! When I learnt this, it clearly threw me off balance because I thought I would do it as often times as I could so I’d derive so much information from what seemed unknown to me. I did not know!

Luciana. When we spoke, I of course got to ask her why she opted to stay so reserved, so quiet and even if she had friends, didn’t talk much with them. Well she was open. She told me that she aspired to lead a quiet life so it would come with humility and that she won’t be quick to judge other people so harshly and wrongly. She didn’t value her opinion as she did for others. That was something good. However, there was still something wrong about it.

Luciana was a totally wounded person inside. You know why? In her silence, she suffered. No one would reach out to her because she acted as though all was okay. When she gave her friends silent treatment, she suffered. Because she would so much have loved to speak with them but didn’t know how to do it. It was what she chose. Silent treatment over silence.

So I referred her to the book of 1 Thessalonians 4:11 that says:

And to aspire to live a tranquil life, to mind your own affairs, and to work with your own hands, as we instructed you, that you may conduct yourselves properly toward outsiders and not depend on anyone.

So did she understand? She did. She saw the difference between suffering alone in silence and minding ones business. Not because you do not care, but simply to avoid a lot of sin that comes along with meddling in other people’s affairs unless you’re called upon to act.

The silence spoken of in this scripture is one that leads to humility. Humility brings with it a lot of joy and happiness because there’s more in reaching out to others and appreciating the joy you bring to their lives because they matter to you.

And silent treatment? You are the center of everything. You are too cautious how you live, what to do. You’re simply in a cocoon because your friends have no room at all in your life. This is sad and heartbreaking. Luciana understood!

Little by little, her life has changed. She’s grown more spiritually and socially. She has been able to reach out to masses of people through her story and for this we thank the Name of the Lord.

Why did I share this story? It is because often we have deprived ourselves joy in living as loners, while God put people in the world to share joyfully together in the body of Christ. He has called us to be humble, not to be alone and shutting everyone out. He has called us to reach out and in giving joy, we have ourselves acquiring it also. May this truth guide our lives throughout this beautiful month of September.

From my heart to yours! 🙂

ceb687ebc711fc850509de359daa4b3a.jpg
Blessed New Month loves!
2 thoughts on “SILENT TREATMENT? NO!

Leave a Reply

